819-822-9600, ext. 2260 gallery@ubishops.ca

Les yeux dans l’eau

21 janvier au 20 mars 2021

Artistes

Foreman : Kelly Jaclynn Andres, Tania Love, Maude Deslauriers, Gaëlle Elma

Sporobole : Caroline Monnet & Ludovic Boney

Commissaire

Geneviève Wallen

Survol
Présentée en collaboration avec le Centre en art actuel Sporobole, Les yeux dans l’eau s’intéresse aux dimensions riveraines à la source de la configuration identitaire de la Ville de Sherbrooke. Cette exposition s’inspire de la géolocalisation de la Galerie d’art Foreman de l’Université Bishop’s à Lennoxville, et le Centre en art actuel Sporobole, situé au centre-ville de Sherbrooke. Établis sur le territoire traditionnel et non cédé du peuple Abénakis et au croisement des Rivières St-François, Magog et Massawippi, les arrondissements du centre-ville de Sherbrooke et de Lennoxville sont bordés de toutes parts par des cours d’eaux porteurs d’histoires et de rencontres inter-espèces. La mémoire de ces rivières est imprégnée de récits socio-naturels enchevêtrés avec la colonisation des terres et des eaux.

Les œuvres sélectionnées de Kelly Jaclynn Andres, Maude Deslauriers, Gaëlle Elma, Tania Love, Ludovic Boney et Caroline Monnet démontrent que les étendues d’eau en milieu urbain font partie d’une arène complexe de création de mondes interconnectés. Les récits évoqués dans les œuvres s’ancrent dans une panoplie de contextes qui, à première vue, peuvent sembler éclectiques. Une trajectoire se dessine peu à peu, reliant un petit étang desséché à Nevis en Alberta aux rivières bordant l’île de Montréal, proposant un détour à Almonte en Ontario tout en suivant les sillons des rues de Toronto, jusqu’à inclure les vapeurs d’eau provenant d’un trou noir situé à plus de douze milliards d’années-lumière de la terre. Une approche interdisciplinaire de l’eau permet d’examiner son rôle dans l’imaginaire humain. Cette exposition cherche à mettre en relief des relations créées avec et par l’eau, et tout ce qu’elles comportent d’échanges inter-espèces, interplanétaires, translocaux et transcorporels. L’eau recueille des récits d’expériences humaines, traverse des écosystèmes, contient des polluants, s’infiltre dans nos maisons, connecte la terre à la flore et la faune, berce les âmes et nourrit les corps. Tout en traversant le temps et l’espace, l’eau est un oracle qui puise des connaissances pour les générations à venir.

Artistes
Kelly Jaclynn Andres est une artiste interdisciplinaire basée en recherche-création, dont le travail s’incarne dans des installations, des événements, des performances et des expériences sensorielles. Son approche se situe au croisement de la pratique sociale, de l’écologie critique et de la perception, comme mode d’engagement dans des expériences avec le phénomène du vivant. Elle a complété un doctorat en arts visuels à l’Université Concordia à Montréal, dont la thèse et le projet de recherche-création s’intitulent Radicle Assemblages (2019). Andres est également titulaire d’une maitrise interdisciplinaire en études féminines et en art performance réseauté, avec un mémoire intitulé Desiring Machinations of Matertekhnologi (2008) qui lui a valu la médaille d’or du Gouverneur général et une médaille de mérite aux études supérieures de l’Université de Lethbridge. Ses intérêts de recherche actuels incluent les pratiques artistiques écologiques, l’appropriation performative de l’espace public, la planification urbaine et communautaire co-créative, ainsi que les approches expérientielles, féministes, posthumanistes et matérialistes pour des formes de narration multi-espèces. Son travail a récemment été exposé à Sandstone City, The Lougheed House (Calgary), The Garden of Speculations, articule (Montréal), le Centre des arts actuels Skol (Montréal), La Maison des arts de Laval, Video Pool, Actuel Contemporary (Winnipeg), PIKSEL (Bergen, Norvège), les quartiers généraux du Cirque du Soleil (Montréal), et Action Art Actuel (Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu).

Maude Deslauriers est une artiste multidisciplinaire qui vit et travaille à Tiohtià:ke/Montréal. Elle travaille principalement avec la peinture et le dessin mais s’intéresse aussi au corps en mouvement, à l’écriture et à la vidéo. Elle est influencée par la biologie et la botanique ainsi que l’histoire des sciences naturelles au sein de la culture occidentale. Son travail a été exposé au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Caroline Monnet est une artiste multidisciplinaire de Gatineau basée à Montréal. Après des études en sociologie et en communication à l’Université d’Ottawa (Ontario) et à l’Université de Grenade (Espagne), elle poursuit une carrière en arts visuels et cinéma. Ses œuvres ont été présentée au Palais de Tokyo (Paris) et à la Haus der Kulturen (Berlin), au TIFF, Sundance, Cannes, Aesthetica (UK), Axenéo7 (Gatineau), Arsenal Contemporary NY, Musée des Beaux Arts du Canada et le musée d’art Contemporain de Montréal. En 2016, elle est sélectionnée pour la prestigieuse résidence de la Cinéfondation du Festival de Cannes à Paris. Son travail fait partie de nombreuses collections, dont le Musée des beaux-arts du Québec, la Galerie d’art nationale, RBC Banque Royale et le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. Elle faisait récemment partie de la Biennale du Whitney et la Biennale d’art de Toronto 2019.

Né à Wendake, village Huron proche de la ville de Québec, Ludovic Boney grandit et fait sa scolarité dans la capitale provinciale. Au sortir de l’école de sculpture en 2002, il participe à la fondation du Bloc 5 (atelier de production artistique) avec quatre autres artistes. Il y travaille et réalise ses premiers projets d’art public en son nom, mais également en collaboration avec de multiples artistes (sérigraphes, peintres, photographes, architectes et sculpteurs). Boney est également enseignant de sculpture à la Maison des métiers d’art de Québec. Depuis 2015, il est installé à Lévis où il continue d’œuvrer dans des projets d’art public de grande envergure et présente son travail régulièrement en galeries ou dans des centres d’artistes. Il a récemment présenté son travail à la Galerie Michel Guimont (Québec) et au Centre Oboro (Montréal).

Nominé dans la longue liste du Prix Sobey en 2017, il est aussi récipiendaire d’une bourse du Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec et de la bourse REVEAL offerte par la Fondation Hnatyshyn. Ludovic Boney est actuellement représenté par la Galerie Michel Guimont à Québec.

Commissaire

Geneviève Wallen est une commissaire indépendante et écrivaine basée à Tiohtiá:ke / Montréal. Elle a obtenu un BFA en histoire de l’art à l’Université Concordia (2012) et une maîtrise en critique et pratique de la conservation à l’Université OCAD (2015). La pratique de Wallen est informée par les récits diasporiques, le féminisme intersectionnel, les dialogues intergénérationnels, les futurs alternatifs du BIPOC et les plateformes de guérison. Ses recherches en cours se concentrent sur la notion de longévité en tant que méthodologie de résistance continue et de travail de soin dans les arts. Sa plus récente exposition organisée, Made of Honey, Gold, and Marigold (2020), a été présentée à la Robert McLaughlin Gallery à Oshawa. Wallen a rédigé des essais pour le magazine C et l’anthologie Other Places: Reflections on Media Arts in Canada, édité par Deanna Bowen. Elle est coordinatrice d’exposition à la FOFA Gallery, membre du collectif YTB (Younger than Beyoncé), et co-initiatrice (avec Marsya Maharani) de Souped Up! une série de dîners thématiques conçus pour créer des espaces pour la construction de soins et de soutien parmi les conservateurs du BIPOC et les travailleurs culturels.

819-822-9600, ext. 2260 gallery@ubishops.ca

Les yeux dans l’eau

January 21st to March 20th, 2021

Artists

Foreman: Kelly Jaclynn Andres, Tania Love, Maude Deslauriers, Gaëlle Elma

Sporobole: Caroline Monnet & Ludovic Boney

 

Curator

Geneviève Wallen

Overview

Presented in association with Sporobole art centre, Les yeux dans l’eau examines the social relations produced by the proximity to water as a set of relationships shaping the identity of the City of Sherbrooke. This exhibition is inspired by the geolocation of the Foreman Art Gallery of Bishop’s University in Lennoxville, and Sporobole Art Center in downtown Sherbrooke. Established on the Traditional and Unceded Territory of the Abenaki People, at the crossings of the lower basin of the St-Francis River, the Magog River Gorge, and the Massawippi River, these two boroughs’ surrounding streams chronicle in their flows spatio-temporal data, including ongoing entanglements between socio-natural histories and coloniality. These locations invite the audience to consider human and non-human relationships formed in proximity with water.

The selected works by Kelly Jaclynn Andres, Maude Deslauriers, Gaëlle Elma, Tania Love, Ludovic Boney & Caroline Monnet demonstrate that water in urbanized spaces is part of a complex arena of world-makings of felt interconnected ripples. The stories presented offer a panoply of references, which at first glance seem eclectic. While demanding to focus our attention on a small dried-up pond in Nevis, Alberta, the viewer is also invited to consider rivers in Montreal’s outskirts while detouring to Almonte in Ontario and to follow crevices of in the streets of Toronto. The proposed investigations go so far as to include water vapours from a black hole located more than 12 billion light years from the earth. An interdisciplinary approach to water permits an examination of its role within human imaginaries and beyond. It also asks what are the relationships created with and by water, and how this contributes to an ever-evolving archive of inter-species, interplanetary, trans-local and trans-corporal activities. As water gathers tales of the human experience, it traverses ecosystems, contains pollutants, seeps, and floods our homes, bridges land, flora and fauna, cradles souls and nourishes bodies. While continually folding time and space, it remembers and pulls knowledge for generations to come. 

 

Artists

Kelly Jaclynn Andres is an interdisciplinary research-based artist who produces installations, events, performances and sensorial experiences. Her work is centred between social practice, critical ecology, and perception as sensorial modalities to engage in experiences with living phenomena. She completed a research-creation Ph.D in Fine Arts at Concordia University, Montreal, Radicle Assemblages (2019). Prior to this, Andres completed an Interdisciplinary M.A in Women’s Studies and Networked Performance Art with her thesis Desiring Machinations of Matertekhnologi (2008) which was awarded the Governor General’s Gold Medal and a graduate studies Medal of Merit from the University of Lethbridge, AB. Her current research interests include ecological art practices, performative placemaking, co-creative community/urban planning, experiential and feminist, posthumanist, and materialist approaches for multi-species storytelling. Recent exhibitions include Sandstone City, The Lougheed House, Calgary, The Garden of Speculations, articule, Montréal, le Centre des arts actuels Skol, Montréal, La Maison des arts de Laval, Video Pool, Actuel Contemporary, Winnipeg, PIKSEL, Bergen, Norway, Cirque du Soleil Headquarters, Montréal, and Action Art Actuel, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu.

Tania Love is a Toronto based artist whose work evolves from a relationship to place.  With a keen interest in materials, she creates tactile pieces that invite slower rhythms and relationship to natural cycles. Recipient of numerous grants, international residencies and exhibitions, her work has been seen in public and commercial galleries and design projects from her native Toronto and Ontario surrounds, to NY, France, Poland, Japan and India. Her most recent 2019 solo exhibition was at the Mississippi Valley Textile Museum.

Maude Deslauriers is a multidisciplinary artist who lives and works in Tiohtià:ke/Montreal. She works primarily across drawing and painting, but she is also interested in body movement, writing and moving images. Her work is influenced by biology and botany, as well as the history of natural sciences in Western culture. She has been exhibited in Canada and in the United States.

Caroline Monnet is a multidisciplinary artist from Outaouais, Quebec. She studied in Sociology and Communication at the University of Ottawa (Canada) and the University of Granada (Spain) before pursuing a career in visual arts and films. Her work has been programmed internationally at the Palais de Tokyo (Paris), Haus der Kulturen der Welt (Berlin), TIFF (CAN), Sundance (US), Aesthetica (UK), Palm Springs (USA), Cannes Film Festival, Museum of Contemporary Art (Montréal), Arsenal Contemporary NY, Axenéo7 (Gatineau), Walter Phillips Gallery (Banff), Division Gallery (Montréal) and the National Art Gallery (Ottawa). In 2016, she was selected for the prestigious Cinéfondation residency in Paris. Her work is included in numerous collections including Quebec Museum of Fine Arts, National Art Gallery, RBC Royal Bank, and Museum of Contemporary Art Montréal. Recent exhibitions include the Whitney Biennial and the Toronto Biennale of Art 2019. She is based in Montréal and represented by Division Gallery.

Born in Wendake, a Huron-Wendat settlement, Ludovic Boney goes on to study in Quebec City. Upon graduating from the School of Sculpture in 2002, he co-founds Bloc 5 (an art production workshop) with four fellow artists. While working there, he conceives his first public art projects, some of which are done in collaboration with other artists trained in screen printing, painting, photography, architecture and sculpture. Boney also teaches sculpture at the Maison des métiers d’art de Québec. Since 2015 he is settled in Lévis, where he keeps working on large-scale public art projects, while presenting his work regularly in galleries and artist-run centers. His work was recently shown at Galerie Michel Guimont (Quebec City) and Centre Oboro (Montreal).

Long-listed for the 2017 Sobey Award, he was also a CALQ recipient and received the REVEAL Indigenous Art Award from The Hnatyshyn Foundation. Ludovic Boney is represented by Galerie Michel Guimont in Quebec City.

 

Curator

Geneviève Wallen is a Tiohtiá:ke/Montreal-based independent curator and writer. She obtained a BFA in Art History at Concordia University (2012) and a MFA in Criticism and Curatorial Practice at OCAD University (2015). Wallen’s practice is informed by diasporic narratives, intersectional feminism, intergenerational dialogues, BIPOC alternative futures and healing platforms. Her ongoing research focuses on the notion of longevity as a methodology of ongoing resistance and care work in the arts. Her most recent curated exhibition, Made of Honey, Gold, and Marigold (2020), was on view at the Robert McLaughlin Gallery in Oshawa. Wallen contributed essays for C magazine and the anthology Other Places: Reflections on Media Arts in Canada, edited by Deanna Bowen. She is an Exhibition Coordinator at FOFA Gallery, a member of YTB (Younger than Beyoncé) Collective, and is the co-initiator (with Marsya Maharani) of Souped Up! a thematic dinner series conceived to carve spaces for care and support building among BIPOC curators and cultural workers.