819-822-9600, ext. 2260 gallery@ubishops.ca

RÉSIDENCE ARTLAB 2023

The Country Singer, the Salt, the Milk, the Goats

Mai 2022 – Octobre 2023

Artiste

Bill Burns

 

Commissaires

Gentiane Bélanger & Noémie Fortin

Survol

Dans le cadre de sa résidence 2022–23, l’ArtLab accueille Bill Burns, dont les recherches s’étendent tout au long de l’année pour culminer vers une exposition présentée à la Galerie d’art Foreman en septembre 2023.

Le projet The Country Singer, the Salt, the Milk, the Goats a pour but de créer et de trouver des méthodes d’échange et d’engagement entre les gens et d’autres gens, entre les gens et les animaux, entre les gens et les choses. Bill Burns compte faire la rencontre des fermiers, des musiciens, des apiculteurs, des artistes, des étudiants et des animaux d’élevage de la communauté. Il veut connaître le fonctionnement des choses et les rapports entre les gens et les animaux d’ici. Il espère révéler la poétique et la joie que recèlent ces relations ordinaires. Pour Bill, cela fait partie d’une performance de longue haleine mettant en jeu nos relations avec les autres espèces, le commerce mondial et la production alimentaire.

Selon Bill Burns, nous nous rapprochons et nous nous séparons sans cesse. À son avis, la même chose peut être dite de notre vie sociale et économique, ainsi que de nos relations avec les autres espèces. En plus de rencontrer des gens et des animaux de la communauté durant sa résidence, Bill fait des dessins et des photos qui anticipent des performances et événements à venir. Il présente également une performance qui reconstitue des événements antérieurs ou le flux entre eux. Cela comprend des chansons, la traite de chèvres et l’extraction de miel.

Artiste

Bill Burns est issu d’une famille de vendeurs de livres de la Saskatchewan. C’est auprès des moines, poètes et fermiers de cette province qu’il a découvert l’art, les livres et les tracteurs. Il est le fondateur et le directeur artistique du Big Pond Small Fish Laboratory de Toronto, une plateforme d’art, de collaboration et de recherche composée de gens souvent exclus de la production et des expositions artistiques.  

Ses œuvres sur la nature, le commerce mondial et la société civile ont été présentées et publiées à grande échelle. Ses projets en solo ont été exposés à l’Institute of Contemporary Arts (Londres, Angleterre), au KW Institute for Contemporary Art (Berlin) et à la Mendes Wood DM (São Paulo). Bill a également pris part à de grandes expositions thématiques au Museum of Modern Art (New York), au Seoul Museum of Art (Corée), au Kunsthallen Nikolaj (Copenhague) et au Stedelijk Museum (Amsterdam). Il a publié de nombreux livres d’artiste et des œuvres audio, y compris Bird Radio (Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther Koenig, Cologne, et KW Berlin; 2011), The Flora and Fauna Information Service, ICA. Londres : 2008 et Hans Ulrich Obrist Hear Us, YYZ BOOKS et Black Dog Publishing. 2016 : Londres. Il a reçu le Danish International Visiting Artist Award (DIVA), à Copenhague.

819-822-9600, ext. 2260 gallery@ubishops.ca

ARTLAB RESIDENCY 2023

The Country Singer, the Salt, the Milk, the Goats

May 2022 – October 2023

Artist

Bill Burns

 

Curators

Gentiane Bélanger & Noémie Fortin

Overview

Under its 2022–23 residency program, the ArtLab welcomes Bill Burns, whose inquiry will continue throughout the year and culminate in an exhibition at the Foreman Art Gallery in September 2023.

The Country Singer, the Salt, the Milk, the Goats is a project to make and research methods of trade and engagement between people and other people, between people and animals and between people and things. Bill Burns will be keen to meet farmers, musicians, beekeepers, artists, students and farm animals in the community. He wants to know how things work and how people and animals get along here. The hope is to unravel the poetics and joy in these everyday relations. For Bill this is part of a long-duration performance work involving our relations to other species, global trade and food production.

Bill Burns proposes that we are continuously coming together and then falling apart. This, he suggests, holds true for our social and economic life as well as our relations to other species. In addition to meeting people and animals in the community during his residency Bill will make drawings and photographs that predict future performances and events and he will also make a performance that re-enacts past events or some flux in between these. There will be songs, there will be goat milking, there will be honey spinning.

Artist

Bill Burns was born into a book selling family in Saskatchewan where he learned about art, books and tractors from monks, poets and farmers. He is founder and artistic director of Big Pond Small Fish Laboratory in Toronto, a platform for art, collaboration and research with people who are often left out of art exhibition and production. 

His work about nature, global trade and civil society has been shown and published widely including solo projects at the Institute of Contemporary Arts, London, England; KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, and Mendes Wood DM, Sao Paulo.  Bill has also been part of major thematic exhibitions at the Museum of Modern Art; New York; the Seoul Museum of Art, Korea; Kunsthallen Nikolaj, Copenhagen; and the Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam. He has published numerous artists’ books and audio works including Bird Radio (Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther Koenig and KW Berlin and Cologne; 2011; The Flora and Fauna Information Service, ICA. London: 2008; and Hans Ulrich Obrist Hear Us, YYZ BOOKS and Black Dog Publishing. 2016: London. His awards include the Danish International Visiting Artist Award (DIVA) Copenhagen.